top of page


J. L. Abramo was born in the seaside paradise of Brooklyn, New York on Raymond Chandler’s fifty-ninth birthday. Abramo earned a BA in Sociology at the City College of New York and a Masters Degree in Social Psychology at the University of Cincinnati.

Abramo is a long-time educator, arts journalist, film and stage actor and theatre director.  Abramo is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, Private Eye Writers of America, International Thriller Writers and the Screen Actors Guild.

Abramo is the author of Catching Water in a Net, winner of the St. Martin’s Press/Private Eye Writers of America Award for Best First Private Eye Novel; and the subsequent Jake Diamond private eye mysteries Clutching at Straws, Counting to Infinity and Circling the Runway, winner of the Shamus Award.

Gravesend, the acclaimed stand-alone crime thriller from Down&Out Books, was released in September 2012.  Chasing Charlie Chan, a prequel to the Jake Diamond private eye series, was released in 2013.

Brooklyn Justice, a novel in stories was released in 2016.  Coney Island Avenue, the follow-up to Gravesend was released in 2017.


The Scene of the Crime

The J. L. Abramo Blogspot

  • Wix Facebook page
  • Wix Twitter page
  • s-blogger

bottom of page